Title The 9th Kobe International Flute Competition (KIFC)
Competition Dates May 25 (Thu) – June 4 (Sun), 2017

First Round May 25 (Thu) – May 27 (Sat), 2017
Second Round May 29 (Mon) – May 30 (Tue), 2017
Third Round June 1 (Thu), 2017
Final Round June 3 (Sat), 2017
Awards Ceremony/
Exhibition Concert
June 4 (Sun), 2017
Venue Kobe Bunka Hall, Medium Hall
4-2-2 Kusunoki-cho, Chuo-ku, Kobe-shi, Hyogo, JAPAN
TEL: +81 (78) 351-3535
Eligibility The Competition is open to flutists born on or after May 25, 1984
Application Fee 18,000 Japanese yen
Application Period June 1 (Wed) through September 30 (Fri), 2016.
(Applications must arrive no later than the closing date.)
Application Methods Application form should be submitted either online or by post. Recorded CD for the Preliminary Screening should be submitted by post only
Repertoire Consist of a wide range of selection including sonatas
Competition Structure The Competition holds the First, Second, Third, and Final Rounds for approximately fifty contestants who passed the Preliminary Screening based on the submitted recording and document.
First prize 2,000,000 Japanese yen Certificate of Merit
Second prize 1,000,000 Japanese yen Certificate of Merit
Third prize 500,000 Japanese yen Certificate of Merit
Forth to sixth prizes 200,000 Japanese yen Certificate of Merit
Contact Secretariat for the Management Committee
of Kobe International Flute Competition
c/o Kobe Cultural Foundation
4-2-2 Kusunoki-cho, Chuo-ku,
Kobe-shi, Hyogo, 650-0017, JAPAN
TEL: +81 (78) 351-3597
E-mail: kifc[AT]*Please replace "[AT]" with "@" .


Organizers Management Committee of KIFC
Kobe City Government
Kobe Cultural Foundation
Japan Federation of Musicians
Japan Flutists Association
President Kizo HISAMOTO Mayor of Kobe
Honorary Adviser Shoji TSUJI Chairman of the Board, Ceremore Cultural Foundation
Adviser Soichi MINEGISHI Professor Emeritus, Toho Gakuen School of Music
Honorary Chairperson of Jury Chang-Kook KIM Professor Emeritus, Tokyo University of the Arts

Management Committee
Chairperson Hiroaki KANDA Principal Flutist, NHK Symphony Orchestra /
Professor, Toho Gakuen School of Music
Members Hideaki SAKAI Vice-Chairman of the Board, Japan Flutists Association /
Visiting Professor, Senzoku Gakuen College of Music
Yumiko SAKUMA Visiting Professor, the Kunitachi Music University
Hidenori TAKEBAYASHI Member of the Board and Secretary General of Kansai Branch, Japan Flutists Association /
Former Professor, Soai University
Tsuyoshi TSUTSUMI Chairman of the Board, Japan Federation of Musicians
Hiroyasu HASEGAWA Director General, NHK Kobe Broadcasting Station
Koji HATTORI Chairperson, Kobe Cultural Foundation